My Life Untranslated

The Secret Adventures of an ESL Teacher in NYC

Fifteenth Edition of the ESL/EFL/ELL Carnival Teacher Reboot Camp

The Fifteenth Edition of the ESL/EFL/ELL Carnival Teacher Reboot Camp by Shelly Terrell is out and it features a lot of really interesting ESL/EFL bloggers (disclaimer: I’m included), and you really must check it out. The title “Teacher Reboot Camp” is what made me want to submit my posts for consideration, and it definitely is like a reboot to read about other teachers and what they’re doing for/with their students. Ms. Terrell also includes a really thoughtful/helpful option to subscribe to all the blogs at once.

There are categories like thought-provoking pedagogy, teaching effectively with technology, presentation and social media advice, and issues to ponder.

Featured teachers include ones you’ve no doubt heard of (like Larry Ferlazzo whose blog offers unending lists of sites and web tools useful for ELLs and their teachers. I’ve found all sorts of useful sites from him), but there are also teachers who are new to me who blog about technology, teaching ELLs in Turkey, and even teaching spelling (which we aren’t exactly allowed to do in my school) by allowing cheating. There is this beautiful blog by a teacher in Japan and this blog with useful links by another teacher in Turkey, who has been teaching for more than 2 decades. Teaching English as a Foreign Language is definitely different in many significant ways from ESL, but as someone who has always wanted to teach abroad, I find these blogs to be great reads. (And, if you’re like and want to teach abroad, then this blog post is for you!)

So, go and check out the Blog Carnival, and I would recommend taking your time with it, clicking on the featured posts and then perusing the blogs they came from. I still am! There are many more than I have linked to above (like I said, I’m still making my way through, and have only linked to ones I’ve read myself so far).

Also, Larry Ferlazzo links to the fourteen previous carnivals.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Fifteenth Edition of the ESL/EFL/ELL Carnival Teacher Reboot Camp

  1. Larry Ferlazzo on said:

    Thanks for participating in the Carnival and for your kind words!

    I hope you’ll consider hosting a future one…

    Larry

  2. Thank you for submitting your posts! I really enjoyed them! Your post about your student was really amazing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

